Florida, like other states, requires you to have auto insurance. “Full” coverage is Florida which is the legal minimum consists of personal injury protection (PIP) and property damage liability (PDL) as follows: PIP takes care of 80 percent of any medical expenses accrued from an accident up to $10,000. PDL covers damage to someone else’s property that you cause in an accident, also up to $10,000. Proof of these coverages is required in order to drive in the state. However, “full” coverage is hardly adequate when looking at how easily your PIP can be eaten up in a serious accident through medical costs. One emergency room visit can exhaust the coverage and, if you need more care, you will be on your own.
Even with the above law in place, many drivers in Florida drive without it. These are uninsured motorists. Those who insure themselves with the minimum legal requirement as stated above may not have enough coverage to fully handle all of their medical bills should they be unlucky enough to be involved in an accident. These are underinsured motorists. It is important to know that, according to the Insurance Research Council, Florida has the highest number of uninsured motorists in the country.
Hurt in a traffic accident in Port Charlotte, Englewood, or North Port? Contact Frohlich, Gordon & Beason, P.A. at (941) 960-7225 to discuss your case with one of our experienced trial lawyers in a free consultation.
Why You Need Uninsured/Underinsured Coverage
The Florida minimum auto insurance coverage requirements are very low in comparison to the minimum requirements in other states. Furthermore, most of the other states require a bodily injury liability coverage as well in the event that a driver injures another in a traffic accident and is consequently sued by that person. However, Florida does not require that type of insurance to legally drive in the state.
Having a bodily injury liability coverage will protect your assets if you are sued by another driver for injuries. In most bodily injury liability policies, uninsured and underinsured coverage can be obtained as well. Having uninsured/underinsured insurance coverage gives you coverage protection should you be injured in a traffic accident by a driver without insurance or one who does not have enough coverage to handle all of your losses and damages. Common estimates of the average cost of traffic accident injuries range from $21,000 for a non-incapacitating crash to $65,000 for an incapacitating crash. In light of how many uninsured drivers are on the road in Florida, uninsured/underinsured coverage appears to be a very good idea.
It is also a good idea in light of the fact that the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Department estimates that the state experiences 200,000 motor vehicle accidents every year with 650 crashes averaging daily. Most everyone is involved in a traffic crash at least once in their lifetime and those who drive a lot have an increased risk for a crash.
Need Help after an Injury Crash?
If you have been involved in a traffic accident that has resulted in injury or death, you should seek legal help to ensure that your rights are fully protected and that you obtain fair and full compensation for your losses and damages. At Frohlich, Gordon & Beason, P.A., we have the legal and trial skills, determination, and knowledge to advance your case. We understand how insurance companies operate and how they will try to reduce or deny claims. Let us put our experience and skills to work for you so that you can recover with peace of mind.
Contact us at (941) 960-7225 to get started today.